OFFICIAL JOURNAL



Regional Secretariat for Parliamentary Affairs and Communities

No. 63

Decree no. 730/2025 of March 31st, 2025

Under the terms of the Regional Legislative Decree no. 18/2019/A of August 5th, it was created the Azorean Diaspora Council (CDA) as a consultative body of the Regional Government competent in the matters of emigration and communities, to ensure the participation, cooperation and auscultation of the Azoreans in the world within the project of the Azores' development.

The CDA establishes in its constitution, according to paragraph d) of no. 1 of article 4th and article 5th of the aforementioned decree, councilors representing different geographic areas of the Azorean diaspora to be elected according to the electoral process determined by the Ordinance no. 24/2021 of March 30th, 2025.

Therefore, and under the terms of paragraph e) of article 8th of the Regional Legislative Decree no. 28/2020/A of December 10th and the Ordinance no. 24/2021 of March 30th it is determined:

- 1. The deadline to submit a candidacy to Azorean Diaspora Councilor is from April 1st until 12pm of April 10th, 2025;
- 2. The electoral commission elaborates the electoral list of each geographic area between April 11th to 14th, 2025, which is later validated by the member of the Regional Government competent in the matters of emigration and Azorean communities;
 - 3. The public presentation of the valid candidacies begins on April 15th and ends at 11:59pm of May 15th, 2025;
 - 4. The voting begins on May 20th and ends at 11:59*pm* of May 24th, 2025;
- 5. After the closure of the voting, the results are aggregated and validated by the electoral commission and then approved by the member of the Regional Government competent in the matters of emigration and Azorean communities;
- 6. Should there be tied votes in a geographic area, a second round of election shall take place with the tied candidates from May 28th until 11:59*pm* of May 30th, 2025;
- 7. The member of the Regional Government competent in the matters of emigration and Azorean communities is responsible for, by decree, providing any explanation or clarifying any doubts which may arise, as well as for analyzing any appeal to the acts taken by the electoral commission;
 - 8. The electoral commission is composed by:

Permanent members:

Hernâni Luís Ferreira Bettencourt, Head of the Support Division for Migrations from the Regional Directorate for the Communities, who will coordinate the work of the commission;

Davide Miguel Alcario Lopes, Head of the Support Division for the Communities from the Regional Directorate for the Communities, who will replace in the coordination of the works, in case of absence or impediments;

Telma Margarida Pimentel Silva, Higher Technician of the Regional Directorate for the Communities; Ivone de Fátima Azevedo Pacheco, Higher Technician of the Regional Directorate for the Communities; and

Rui Fernando Melo Cabo, Informatics Specialist of the Regional Secretariat for Parliamentary Affairs and Communities;

Substitutes:

Raquel Joana Lopes dos Santos Rodrigues, Higher Technician of the Regional Directorate for the Communities; and

2nd SERIES No. 63

Ana Rosa de António Cerqueira, Higher Technician of the Regional Directorate for the Communities.

March 28th, 2025. – The Regional Secretary for Parliamentary Affairs and Communities, Paulo Jorge Abraços Estêvão.